What Does The Equality Act 2010 Protect?

Who is protected under the Equality Act?

The Equality Act covers the same groups that were protected by existing equality legislation – age, disability, gender reassignment, race, religion or belief, sex, sexual orientation, marriage and civil partnership and pregnancy and maternity.

These are now called `protected characteristics´..

How does the Equality Act protect race?

The Equality Act 2010 says you must not be discriminated against because of your race. In the Equality Act, race can mean your colour, or your nationality (including your citizenship). It can also mean your ethnic or national origins, which may not be the same as your current nationality.

How does the Equality Act empower individuals?

It provides a legal framework to protect the rights of individuals and promote equal opportunities for everyone. It clarifies what private, public and voluntary sectors must legally do to ensure that people with protected characteristics (such as a learning disability) are not disadvantaged.

How does the Equality Act protect mental health?

The Equality Act 2010 is the law that protects you from discrimination and gives you the right to challenge it. You are protected by the Equality Act if you have certain protected characteristics, like a mental health problem.

What are the three main purposes of the Equality Act?

We welcome our general duty under the Equality Act 2010 to have due regard to the need to eliminate discrimination; to advance equality of opportunity; and to foster good relations.

Who does the Equality Act 2010 protect and how does it aim to protect them?

If you are discriminated against on the basis of any of these characteristics, then the Equality Act 2010 legally protects you. The Act imposes obligations on public authorities, employers, service providers, businesses, and any organisation exercising a public function, to combat discrimination and promote equality.

How does the Equality Act 2010 promote diversity?

When we’re making decisions, the Equality Act 2010 gives us a duty to take into account the need to: eliminate discrimination, harassment and victimisation. advance equality of opportunity. foster good relations between different parts of the community.

How does Equality Act 2010 protect service users?

The Equality Act 2010 applies to everyone who provides a service to the public, whether or not a charge is made for that service. It covers statutory, private, voluntary and community sector organisations. … The Equality Act 2010 prohibits discrimination on named grounds. These are called ‘protected characteristics’.

Is the Equality Act effective?

The Equality Act passed the United States House of Representatives on May 17, 2019 in a bipartisan 236–173 vote.

What happens if you break the Equality Act?

Discrimination. In discrimination cases, where there has been a breach of the Equality Act 2010 by the employer, the two most important categories are injury to feelings and loss of earnings. Unlike unfair dismissal, there is no limit on the amount of compensation that can be awarded in discrimination cases.

How does the Equality Act 2010 empower individuals?

The Equality Act 2010 legally protects people from discrimination in both employment and accessing goods/services. It replaced previous anti-discrimination laws with a single Act, bringing together the: Sex Discrimination Act 1975.

What does the Equality Act protect against?

The Equality Act is a law which protects you from discrimination. It means that discrimination or unfair treatment on the basis of certain personal characteristics, such as age, is now against the law in almost all cases.

What did the Equality Act 2010 replace?

The Equality Act 2010 has replaced the Equal Pay Act 1970, Sex Discrimination Act 1975, Race Relations Act 1976, Disability Discrimination Act 1995, Employment Equality (Religion or Belief) Regulations 2003, Employment Equality (Sexual Orientation) Regulations 2003 and the Employment Equality (Age) Regulations 2006.

What are the main points of the Equality Act 2010?

Under the Equality Act, there are nine protected characteristics:age.disability.gender reassignment.marriage and civil partnership.pregnancy and maternity.race.religion or belief.sex.More items…•

What rights does the Equality Act 2010 promote?

An introduction to the Equality Act 2010 The Act provides a legal framework to protect the rights of individuals and advance equality of opportunity for all. It provides Britain with a discrimination law which protects individuals from unfair treatment and promotes a fair and more equal society.